El Toro Taqueria’s Taconomics

Authors

Live music and a live show while enjoying $1.50 tacos. Can you beat that? El Toro Taqueria is located near the heart of the Mission District and offers great food at a low price. The place looks completely modern unlike many other Taqueria in the area and the price is slightly higher than the others. However, if you are here on the right day and the right time, you can enjoy the same great tacos for only $1.50 each. They call it Taconomics Tuesdays. They have a chef on the grill constantly cooking up fresh meat for your entertainment and to help boost appetite. It reminds me of Benihana’s but with just a fraction of the show for 10% of the price and the same friendly smiles. (picture attached below) On the day that we went, there was live music and that seems to be a regular thing at El Toro Taqueria. The place is in immaculate condition and looks very clean. It is roomy and gives that very comfortable vibe rather than the dirty and cramped vibe for most Taquerias. They also have a full self serve salsa bar for the customers and every order comes with free chips.

The special includes Beef, Pork, Chicken, and Spicy Chicken Tacos. We ordered a few of each one. The portions were normal but definitely enough to fill us up with just 3 or 4 tacos each. The super tacos weren’t included in the special so they didn’t come with avocado, guacamole, or sour cream. In my opinion, the taco didn’t need all the extra add ons. As always with Mexican food, I recommend the pork. The pork was very juicy and every bite was mouth watering. The salsa does help put a extra punch to the flavor of the taco but it wasn’t needed. I personally liked the spicy one but I only used it for the chips that they give for free with every order.  Premium ingredients like shrimp and fish was extra so we didn’t try any of those tacos.

They served every one of us very attentively and quickly. They took our orders and made the tacos very fast. When we needed time to pick from our four options of meat, they were very patient and let us take our time. Every single one of the workers in back of the counter were smiling. Once the food is ordered it is done, you pay for the food and bring it to the table on your own. They clear the tables rather quickly to make sure there is seating for other customers. During the happy hour time the line gets long very fast and almost goes out the door. When this happens they actually have more employees come our to help speed up the ordering process. They really know how to let people feel like they care when taking care of each customer.

Photos:

El Toro Taqueria
598 Valencia Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 431-3351
http://sfeltoro.com/

Happy Hour Monday to Friday from 3PM to 5PM
$1.50-$6 per person

6 Comments

Comments RSS
  1. amanda

    Wow my friends and I need to try these places out! I love how you have photos of not just the food but of the actual eateries/environment because it adds so much more to the review for us picky eaters!

  2. sfsu2010

    Hi Damon! You really made want to go and try those delicious tacos!

    How often do you go to this restaurant?

    I live in the East Bay, and there are many Mexican restaurants around here. I have try some, but as you mentioned, a lot of these restaurants are small or old buildings, which makes a lot of their customers concern about sanitary issues. Though there is place in Oakland with very good tacos and great price. It has been a while since I was there, (about six months I believe) and their price where only $1 dollar each taco! Those tacos are very tasty as well, and they are open until three in the morning. Some times when I go out and get hungry, I spot there and I always enjoy those tacos. Probably the tacos are cheap because of the area where the taqueria is located. As everyone knows, Oakland is not the safest city in the East Bay, but I have never seen anything that scared me, so I go every time I have a chance.
    I wish I lived closer to the Mission district. I heart that one can find many Mexican products out there.
    Thanks for the great information Damon! If I have the opportunity to go to the mission district, I will know about a good place to go eat. And also thanks for the pictures. I feel that if I go to the place, I will know what to expect, or how the restaurant looks like.

  3. salmabennani

    I really want to go try this mexican place because you make it sound not only appetizing but also a fun place where people can enjoy their meal! Tacos is one of the food I like in Mexican food because it is light, crunchy and not heavy like BURRITO!!! I agree that the taco does not need extra add on. For me when I add those stuff, I just make it harder to eat lol because I don’t really feel the difference in the taste however, as you stated, the salsa does add an extra punch with flavor. I tried only couple Mexican places in be bay area and honestly I forget how much their tacos cost but $1.50 is very cheap and affordable for many people. I usually satisfy my hunger by eating two but I can eat more if I was not trying to loose some weight :)). Oh you said that there is live music and the chef is cooking in front of you, this is great and never went to a Mexican place like that! I’ll definitely go check it out.
    thank you Damond for blogging about affordable restaurant in San Fransisco because it is interesting for almost every body especially to me as I have been leaving here for only five years so I know mostly the known restaurant like CPk, chipotle,….

  4. jbilangel

    I love El Toro Taqueria! lol I’m a fan of tacos and burritos so whenever I’m in the mission, I’ll go grab some cheap tacos in El Toro if not I’ll go to Pancho Villa (same owner btw).

Comments are appreciated!! Please reply below